HUST 2015

Second Annual Workshop on HPC User Support Tools

November 20, 2015, Austin, TX, USA.


Held in conjunction with SC15, in cooperation with SIGHPC.

Submission deadline extended one week to August 14! See below.


Supercomputing centers exist to drive scientific discovery by supporting researchers in computational science fields. To make users more productive in the complex HPC environment, HPC centers employ user support teams. These teams serve many roles, from setting up accounts, to consulting on math libraries and code optimization, to managing HPC software stacks. Adequately supporting scientists can often be a struggle for the support teams. HPC environments are extremely complex, and combined with the complexity of multi-user installations, exotic hardware, and maintaining research software, supporting HPC users can be extremely demanding. Meeting all of these competing demands of the scientist often results in the creation of new tools and establishment of new policies and best practices.

With the second HUST workshop, we will continue to provide a necessary forum for system administrators, user support team members, tool developers, policy makers and end users to discuss support issues. We solicit papers on user support experiences, best practices, tools, and any efforts to streamline support at supercomputing centers.

 Download the HUST15 CFP


Workshop Program


Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

  • Defining and customising the user environment
  • Software build and installation tools
  • Tools and frameworks for using performance analysis tools
  • Workflow and pipeline tools
  • Collaboration tools
  • Novel environments: cloud, etc.
  • Tools and frameworks for supporting Hadoop and Big Data
  • Establishing baseline configuration efforts for HPC
  • Software development/system testing
  • Documentation: creating, maintaining and updating

We invite authors to submit original, high-quality work with sufficient background material to be clear to the HPC community. Papers should be submitted in PDF format and should not exceed 10 pages including tables, figures and appendices, but excluding references. They should be formatted according to the ACM SIG Proceedings format. Similar to the SC15 policy, margins and font sizes should not be modified. We kindly refer authors to the necessary templates.

All submissions should be made electronically through the Easychair website. Submissions must be double blind, i.e., authors should remove their names, institutions or hints found in references to earlier work. When discussing past work, they need to refer to themselves in the third person, as if they were discussing another researcher’s work. Furthermore, authors must identify any conflict of interest with the PC chair or PC members.

Proceedings will be published in both IEEE Xplore and the ACM Digital library through collaboration with ACM SIGHPC.


Extended Deadline!

The submission deadline has been extended one week to August 14.

Submission deadline: August 14

Workshop paper reviews due: September 21

Acceptance notifications: October 1

Camera-ready papers: October 8

Workshop: November 20, at SC15


Organizing Committee

General Chair

Program Chairs

  • Todd Gamblin, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, USA
  • Vera Hansper, Victorian Life Sciences Computation Initiative, Australia

Program Committee

  • Daniel Ahlin, PDC HPC Center, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden
  • David Bernholdt, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA
  • Christopher Bording, Pawsey Supercomputing Centre, Australia
  • Anthony DiGirolamo, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA
  • Fernanda Foertter, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA
  • Scott Futral, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, USA
  • Todd Gamblin, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, USA
  • Markus Geimer, Juelich Supercomputing Centre, Germany
  • Andy Georges, Ghent University, Belgium
  • Vera Hansper, Victorian Life Sciences Computation Initiative, Australia
  • James Lin, Center for HPC, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China
  • Christopher Harris, Pawsey Supercomputing Centre, Australia
  • Olli-Pekka Lehto, CSC - IT Center for Science, Finland
  • John C. Linford, ParaTools, USA
  • Robert McLay, Texas Advanced Computing Center, USA
  • Dave Montoya, Los Alamos National Laboratory, USA
  • Randy Schauer, Raytheon Company, USA
  • Dane Skow, University of Wyoming, USA
  • William Scullin, Argonne National Laboratory, USA